Thursday, 2 October 2014

Honouring Contribution to Community Theatre in Central Ontario

Do you know someone whose sustained contribution, generosity of spirit, involvement, and commitment within his/her region has helped community theatre flourish?  Theatre Ontario is now inviting nominations for the 2015 Michael Spence Award for Contribution to Community Theatre.  The award is presented annually to an individual from the region that is hosting the Theatre Ontario Festival—which in 2015 is Central Ontario.
Bev Dietrich of Elmira
was the recipient of the 2014
Michael Spence Award for
Contribution to Community Theatre

Past recipients of the award are Joan McRae, Anne Wilson, Lillian Sievanen, Sharon Sproule, Betty Coates, Arlene Watson, Vince Mathewson, David Glover, Harry Houston, Hans Warmenhoven, Beth McMaster, Val Hadley, Maureen Lukie, Ken Stephen, Gabe Ferrazzo, Margaret Shearman, Lawrie Bonanno, Jo-anne Spitzer, Walter Maskel, and Joe O’Brien.  The 2014 award was presented to Bev Dietrich of Elmira.

The 2015 award will be presented to an individual from the Central Ontario community theatre region, which includes the City of Toronto, Durham Region, York Region, Peel Region, Halton Region (except for the City of Burlington), Simcoe County, Dufferin County, and the District of Muskoka.

The award was established in 1997 by Theatre Ontario on the occasion of Theatre Ontario's 25th Anniversary.  Multiple awards were presented on the quinquennial anniversaries of Theatre Ontario until 2012, when it became a single, annual award.  The award is named in honour of Michael Spence, the founding President of Theatre Ontario.  Michael was active in community theatre at Hart House Theatre, London Little Theatre, and the University Alumnae Dramatic Club (now known as Alumnae Theatre.)  He was a member of the Board of Governors of the Dominion Drama Festival, a past President of Arts Etobicoke, and continues to be an enthusiastic supporter of Theatre Ontario.

The nomination deadline is January 30, 2015.

Read more about Theatre Ontario’s Michael Spence Award for Community Theatre and download award guidelines and nomination form

No comments:

Post a Comment